RRSD Executive Committee Meeting Minutes 2012 ANS Annual Meeting

Columbia Room, Bronze Level, West Tower, Hyatt Regency Chicago June 24, 2012

Executive Board Members Present

Tom Nance, Chair Reid Kress, Vice Chair Jim Tulenko, Secretary Mark Noakes, Treasurer Rob Owen Mitch Pryor Sean Peterson Rick Minichan

Executive Board Members Absent

Coleen Shelton-Davis Chris Eason Duanne Smoker Timity McJunkin Jeffrey Coughlin Carl Crane – Past Chair

Others Present

Lisa Lockrem – Special Awards Chair

Call to Order: 12:00 pm

1.0 Preliminary Business

- A) Introduction of ExCom Members
- B) Quorum established. All present were asked to introduce themselves and identify their organization.

RRSD Mission & Vision

A) Discussion was Led by Chair Tom Nance and action Items were set in place

Action Item 1. Reid Kress was appointed to determine RRSD member on ANS Program Committee, with Reid to find a program chair.

2.0 Previous Meeting Minutes

A) Minutes of the last executive meeting held in Washington DC were approved as distributed

3.0 Student Conferences

ANS 2012 Student Conference:

- A) Representatives Sherry Faye and Vanessa Sanders were given the floor to report on the 2012 ANS student conference. The 2012 ANS Student Conference was held at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas on April 12-15, 2012. There were 516 total attendees, 382 students and 134 professional attendees. There were 118 student podium presentations and 40 poster sessions. 23 awards were given. Our division was represented by Chris Eason who attended the ANS Student Convention in Las Vegas at the UNLV campus and served as session chair and judge for presentations in Radio Chemistry and Accelerator Application. This was his second year as a session chair and judge. Last year he attended the Student Conference in Atlanta at Georgia Tech and plans to represent our Division at MIT in 2013.
- B) MIT will host the 2013 ANS Student conference. Dates of the conference are April 4-6, 2013. The meeting will be held at the Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel. The theme of the conference is: "I'm a Nuke". The objective of the theme is to enhance the public's view of Nuclear Engineers. Samuel Brinton, Nathan Gibson and Katia Paramonova are the conference student co-chairs.

Action Item 2. Mitch Pryor to look into RRSD hosting a booth and/or other items for the student conference.

5.0 Treasurers Report (Mark Noakes)

A) RRSD Financial Statement was reviewed. Serious questions with regard to continued funding of Robotics groups at current level of funding.

Action Item 3 - Mark Noakes to contact Barry Burke to provide financial information from 13th topical.

Action Item 4 - Mark Noakes to update treasures report with funds from 13th topical.

6.0 14th Topical Meeting Update (2014) (Rick Minichan)

A) Topical Meeting is moving ahead, Preliminary dates are the week if September 7, 2014. Rick needs suggestions for RRSD program chair. Tom Sanders has been suggested as the General Chair and Rick is seeking his agreement. Savannah River Section is considering being the Local Section, since Savannah and Charleston are potential conference sites. Fiscal split is being considered to be based on papers presented by each division. Two action items were assigned.

Action Item 5 – Sean Peterson to look into the feasibility of securing a Manipulator for a booth at the topical and student conference.

Action Item 6 – Rick Minichan to look into the feasibility of having a workshop at the topical. conference.

7.0 Web Page (Mitch Pryor)

A) Two action items were assigned.

Action Item 7 - The feasibility of obtain old transaction papers for viewing on the web was assigned to Reid Kress .

Action Item 8 - Reid Kress with assigned responsibility to look into input to the ANS blog.

8.0 Student Support

A) Two action items was assigned

Action Item 9 - Lisa Lockrem will seek additional RRSD member for Young Member's group with new member coming to ANS meetings . Lisa is our current member to the group.

Action Item 10 – RRSD Treasurer was authorized to disburse \$500.00 to Aragon High School Robotic team and \$500.00 to Carver Edisto Middle School Robotic team.

9.0 RRSD Division Planning

A)Two action items were assigned.

Action Item 11 - Tulenko will update one year plan for next meeting.

Action Item 12 - Tulenko will update RRSD five year plan.

10.0 Division Metrics

A) Division Metrics were reviewed with the sole RED being National Meeting Participation. Three yellows were: Division meetings, membership Trends which have been negative and Class 3 Topicals. Two action items were assigned.

11.0 Honors and Awards (Lisa Lockrem)

A) Lisa Handed out a Study of proposed Changes to RRSD honors and Awards. It was approved to change the Ray Goertz award to an annual award based on the ability of the division to maintain financially. The award will be given at the RRSD Topical when one and held and other wise will be given at the ANS honors and award convocation. Criteria was changed to remote technology in "hazardous environments". The award is now open to non RRSD/ANS members who have made a contribution to RRSD. They are expected to attend to receive their award.

Action Item 13 - Lisa will update the RRSD web page for the Ray Goertz award to reflect the changes to the award.

12.0 RRSD National Meeting Paper Program

A) The division has 5 papers for Wednesday from 1 to 4 in the Haymarket room

Action Item 14 - Reid has action to look at a replacement for the publication charge.

Action Item 15 - Mitch has action item to contact San Diego state

13.0 **Nominating Committee** (Tom Nance)

The nomination slate is due in November, suggestions and self-nominations are welcome. Please send your nominations to Tom Nance)

14.0 Old Business

A) None.

15.0New Business

A) None.

Finally:

Action Item 16 - Tulenko and Noakes were assigned the action item to send out the action item list every two months.

Recognition of Outgoing ExeCom Members:

Plaques were handed out to our retiring executive committee members (Rob Owen who was present and Colleen Shelton-Davis and Chris Eason 'in absentia') Thom Nance was honored as retiring Chair. New officers are Reid Kress as Chair, Jim Tulenko as Vice-Chair, Mark Notes as Secretary and Chris Eason is the newly-elected Treasurer. We welcome the three new ExCom members: Miles A. Close, John F. Jansen and Bruce A. Legge

16.0Meeting Adjourned 4:00 pm.